Why Petrol Pump Price Is Different from OGRA Price — Where the Rs1.47–Rs15 Gap Comes From Prices in Pakistan now change daily, so the figures in this article are as of the 13 October 2026 notification (press-reported). The article explains why the gap exists — for today’s numbers, see our daily petrol price update. Wondering…

Why Petrol Pump Price Is Different from OGRA Price — Where the Rs1.47–Rs15 Gap Comes From

Prices in Pakistan now change daily, so the figures in this article are as of the 13 October 2026 notification (press-reported). The article explains why the gap exists — for today’s numbers, see our daily petrol price update.

Wondering why petrol pump price is different from OGRA price? If you checked the news in the morning and then drove to the pump, you probably noticed it: OGRA says one price, but your pump board shows another. You are not being short-changed by accident — and you are not misreading the news. The two prices are simply two different things: an ex-depot wholesale price and a retail pump price. Understanding the difference explains almost all of the gap.

Petrol station forecourt in Pakistan at dusk with a fuel nozzle held in the foreground
A petrol station forecourt in Pakistan at dusk — the price on the board here is retail, not OGRA’s ex-depot figure.

Why petrol pump price is different from OGRA price: the two prices, explained

OGRA’s notified price is an ex-depot price. Under the daily pricing framework, OGRA issues a new ex-depot price every day without the Prime Minister’s approval (Friday’s price holds for Saturday and Sunday), calculated on a 7-day average basis (press-reported, Geo News, 13 October 2026). Think of it as the wholesale price of fuel at the depot gate — before the fuel travels the last stretch to your station.

The pump board price is the retail price. It starts from OGRA’s ex-depot figure and then adds the costs of getting the fuel from the depot to that specific station, plus the margins earned by everyone along the chain. That is why the board almost always reads higher than the headline number in the news.

For reference, the 13 October 2026 notification set petrol at Rs395.37/L (down Rs2.93) and high-speed diesel at Rs396.85/L (up Re0.61), effective today (press-reported, multiple outlets).

Where the gap comes from

Why petrol pump price is different from OGRA price comes down to these layers:

  • OMC and dealer margins — The official price buildup fixes the oil marketing company’s margin at Rs7.87/L and the dealer’s margin at Rs9.98/L (official, Business Recorder e-paper, 13 October 2026). These margins are built into the notified price structure.
  • IFEM freight equalisation — The Inland Freight Equalisation Margin (Rs7.93/L on petrol and Rs4.71/L on HSD, official, Business Recorder e-paper, 13 October 2026) evens out freight costs across the country — but it does not cover everything.
  • The OMC price-list gap — On 9 October, the commonest price on PSO, Hascol and Wafi’s own price lists was Rs400.43/L, a full Rs1.47/L above OGRA’s Rs398.96 headline, before any secondary freight to individual stations (press-reported, pakera.pk, updated 11 October 2026). Diesel showed the same pattern (Rs397.19 against Rs395.72).
  • Secondary freight to remote stations — Fuel still has to travel from the depot to each pump, and that last leg is charged to remote-area stations at higher rates. Stations served by far-off depots charged up to ~Rs15/L over the headline on 9 October (press-reported, pakera.pk, updated 11 October 2026).
  • Rounding — Final board prices are rounded to the nearest paisa/rupee figure, which adds a few paisa of difference (unverified — no official source specifies this).

What the 13 October price buildup actually looks like

The official buildup published for the 13 October 2026 notification shows exactly how the notified petrol price of Rs395.37/L is constructed (official, Business Recorder e-paper, 13 October 2026):

ComponentPetrol (Rs/L)HSD (Rs/L)
Import cost284.59289.29
Petroleum levy80.0080.00
Climate Support Levy5.005.00
Dealer margin9.989.98
OMC margin7.877.87
IFEM7.934.71
Total (notified price)395.37396.85

Note that levies and margins were unchanged in this notification — the Rs2.93 cut in petrol and Re0.61 increase in diesel came from the import-cost component. Everything above is ex-depot; your pump board adds the retail layers discussed in the previous section.

Why some stations charge much more than others

Location is the biggest single driver of the visible difference. On 9 October, the highest pump price in the country was Rs413.94/L in Mansehra, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, supplied from the Faqirabad depot — about Rs15 above the OGRA headline (press-reported, pakera.pk, updated 11 October 2026). Stations closer to major depots cluster near the headline figure; stations in remote areas carry the extra secondary-freight cost on their boards.

This also explains a puzzle many drivers notice: two stations on the same road can show different prices. They are simply served by different depots or different OMCs, each with its own freight cost and price list.

Official fuel price notification document beside a glowing petrol pump price board, showing why petrol pump price is different from OGRA price
Left: OGRA’s notified ex-depot price. Right: the pump board. They measure two different things.

How to check your pump against the OGRA list

You can verify in a few minutes whether what your station charges is in line with the official structure:

  1. Note the board price at your station — take a photo of the pump’s price display if you want a record.
  2. Check OGRA’s notified ex-depot price for the day (issued daily under the current framework; Friday’s figure holds for the weekend) — press-reported, Geo News, 13 October 2026.
  3. Compare with your OMC’s price list — PSO, Hascol and Wafi publish their own lists, which typically sit about Rs1.47/L above the headline (press-reported, pakera.pk, updated 11 October 2026).
  4. Allow for freight — a small premium over the OMC list is normal, especially outside major cities; a gap far above it is worth questioning. You can track station-level prices on pakera.pk’s pump price page (external site, opens in new tab).

For day-to-day figures, our petrol price today page, the PSO petrol price tracker, and the Karachi petrol price guide are updated alongside each notification.

What about 9771 fuel subsidy tokens — which price are they settled at?

Short answer: it is not publicly specified. No official source we could verify states whether 9771 tokens under the PM Fuel Relief Scheme are settled against OGRA’s ex-depot price, the OMC list price, or the pump-board retail price. Until an official clarification is published, do not assume any of the three. For how the tokens themselves work, see our 9771 token guide and the 9771 weekly token explainer. Background on the scheme’s future is in Will the petrol relief scheme end?, 800cc car petrol subsidy, and the PM Fuel Relief Scheme complete guide.

Fuel tanker truck on a winding mountain road in northern Pakistan heading toward a remote depot
Freight to remote depots such as Faqirabad is why pump prices in places like Mansehra run the highest in the country.

Frequently asked questions

What exactly is OGRA’s price?

OGRA’s notified price is the ex-depot (wholesale) price — the price of fuel at the depot gate, built from import cost, levies (Rs80/L petroleum levy, Rs5/L Climate Support Levy), dealer and OMC margins, and IFEM (official, Business Recorder e-paper, 13 October 2026). It is not the price the pump is required to display.

Why petrol pump price is different from OGRA price: the usual Rs1–2 board gap

Because OMCs publish their own retail price lists that already sit above the OGRA headline — on 9 October, PSO/Hascol/Wafi lists commonly showed Rs400.43/L against a Rs398.96 headline, a Rs1.47/L gap before any secondary freight (press-reported, pakera.pk, updated 11 October 2026). The station’s own freight and rounding add a little more on top.

Why do remote stations charge up to Rs15 more?

Secondary freight. Fuel shipped to stations served by distant depots — for example Mansehra stations supplied from Faqirabad depot — carries much higher transport costs, which appear directly on the board (press-reported, pakera.pk, updated 11 October 2026).

Is my pump overcharging if the board is higher than the news figure?

Not necessarily. The news figure is ex-depot; the board is retail. Only compare like with like: the board against your OMC’s published list, not against the OGRA headline. A board price far above both is worth querying with the station or OGRA.

Do fuel prices still change every fortnight?

No. Pricing moved to a daily framework: OGRA issues a fresh ex-depot price each day (no PM approval needed), Friday’s price holds over Saturday and Sunday, on a 7-day average basis (press-reported, Geo News, 13 October 2026).

Which price do 9771 subsidy tokens use — OGRA’s or the pump’s?

This is not publicly specified. We found no official source confirming the settlement basis for 9771 tokens, so treat any claim about it as unverified until OGRA or the scheme’s administrators publish the mechanism.